29th Mar 2024 10:03:PM State
Eastern Sentinel Arunachal News

ES Newsdesk 

Itanagar, Mar 29: The BJP candidate from the 13th Itanagar Assembly constituency is set to retain office as the lone opponent’s nomination paper was rejected today.
As per reports, BJP candidate Techi Kaso is set to win the Assembly seat unopposed following NPP candidate, Tai Tadap's nomination was rejected by the CEO.
The nomination papers for Legislative Assembly Seat for the 13th Itanagar AC (ST) of Techi Kaso of BJP has been accepted by RO Shweta Nagarkoti, on Friday.
During the scrutiny of the nomination papers on Thursday submitted by intending candidates, Techi Kaso had raised objection on the nomination papers of the other contesting candidate Tai Tadap of the National People’s Party (NPP). 
The objections were related to —Oath affirmation, Double enrolment in EPIC in two(2) different constituencies including Wrong information in Affidavit.
The RO informed that the candidate Tai Tadap was given the opportunity to rebut the objection till 11am of March 29 but failed to submit any reply. 
On the perusal of the objections by the RO, one of the objection was found to be substantive as Tai Tadap had subscribed his oath at 10.10 am before filing his nomination at 2.15 pm which is a violation of guidelines and rules thereof under the candidate handbook and thereby is a valid ground for rejection of nomination as per the prescribed guidelines of the Election Commission of India and as per the Supreme Court judgment laid down in ‘Pashupatinath Singh Vs Harihar Prasad Singh AIR 1967’ which says that oath or affirmation cannot be taken or made by a candidate before he has been nominated as a candidate.
Based on this, the nomination paper of NPP party candidate Tai Tadap got rejected, the official statement reads.
This is the latest in the growing list of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) candidates who are set to win uncontested in the April 19 polls. Earlier, Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu including four others also won uncontested as till the last date of filing of nominations on Wednesday, no candidate has filed papers against Khandu and four other candidates.
However, the Election Commission of India (ECI) is yet to make a formal announcement of their victory in the elections.
Notably, Er Ratu Techi from Sagalee emerges as another prominent contender set to secure an uncontested win. With no opposition candidates filing nominations before the deadline, the BJP is poised for a clean sweep in various constituencies, including Mukto and Sagalee. 
Additionally, Er Hage Appa from Ziro of Lower Subansiri district faces no opposition, further solidifying the BJP's position. 
The latest update reveals a total of 6 candidates winning uncontested, including Jikke Tako from Tali, Nyato Dukam from Taliha, Ratu Techi from Sagalee, and Mutchu Mithi from Roing Assembly constituencies.

Kenter Joya Riba

(Managing Editor)
      She is a graduate in Science with post graduation in Sociology from University of Pune. She has been in the media industry for nearly a decade. Before turning to print business, she has been associated with radio and television.
Email: kenterjoyaz@easternsentinel.in / editoreasternsentinel@gmail.com
Phone: 0360-2212313

<< Back to News List